Friday, March 12, 2021

4th EDDYS to Stream Worldwide on FDCP Channel and Other Platforms

THE Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) and Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP) join forces anew for the fourth edition of The EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice) which virtually unfolds on March 22.

For the third time, the FDCP through its chairperson and CEO Liza Diño gives full supports to the editors’ group and its annual film awards. 

The 4th EDDYS’ virtual edition will premiere on FDCP’s website ( and streamed on various platforms including the SPEEd Facebook Page and several SPEEd members’ own pages and YouTube Channels.

The FDCP Channel is "an exclusive, FDCP-managed platform that lets audiences enjoy quality local and international content online."

Accessible worldwide, the FDCP Channel will air The 4th EDDYS  which will give recognition to top-calibre work aired on various platforms during the time of the pandemic.

There will be 14 categories covering work released in 2020, including Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Actor. 

Aside from FDCP, also supporting the 4th edition of Entertainment Editors’ Choice as major sponsors are toktok courier service and delivery app and Beautederm Corporation.

Other sponsors are San Miguel Corp., Tiger Crackers, Smart Shot, Aficionado of Joel Cruz, Maris and Dee Chanco of Maris Pure Corp., Speaker Lord Allan Velasco, Willie Revillame, Raffy Tulfo and Rep. Nina Taduran of the Partylist ACT-CIS. 

Meanwhile, Juancho Robles, managing partner of Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, once again takes on the auditing duties that had kept The EDDYS' integrity intact since the beginning. 

On Monday, March 15, The EDDYS will release the year’s official list of nominees in the acting and technical categories.

As a special highlight, the 4th EDDYS will launch the 'Isah V. Red (IVR) Award' in honor and memory of SPEEd’s late founding president, Isah V. Red.

“This recognition is given to individuals like him — a dynamic and spirited renaissance man with a deep love for God, country and community — who beyond the realm of entertainment has so enriched and made a difference in the lives of many, in his most colorful, gregarious and inimitable way,” SPEEd president Ian Fariñas said.

The first recipients of the IVR Award are Senator Ramon 'Bong' Revilla Jr., Angel Locsin, Kim Chiu, Ramon Ang, Rhea Anicoche-Tan and Claire de Leon-Papa for their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating conditions of people adversely affected by the Covid-19 pandemic.

Another much-awaited tradition is the presentation of the 2021 EDDYS Icon Awards to be conferred this time on entertainment personalities Gloria Sevilla, Ronaldo Valdez, Pilar Pilapil, Boots Anson-Rodrigo, Gina Pareño, Dante Rivero, Tommy Abuel, Caridad Sanchez, Joel Lamangan and Ricky Lee.

Meanwhile, The EDDYS’ annual special awardees have been named as the following: TV-radio host-columnist Lolit Solis for the Joe Quirino Award; entertainment columnist Mario Bautista for the Manny Pichel Award; Blacksheep Productions for the Rising Producers’ Circle; and The IdeaFirst Company as Producer of the Year.

Lastly, posthumous recognitions will be given to Peque Gallaga, Tony Mabesa, Menggie Cobarrubias, Ramon Revilla Sr. and Tony Ferrer.

SPEEd is a group of entertainment editors of major broadsheets and tabloids in the Philippines and through these uncertain times that changed the landscape of entertainment in various ways, the group believes that giving recognition to the best works of the year is one way to uplift filmmakers, producers, writers, actors and all those involved in creating quality Filipino film works that both entertain and inspire audiences across the country and the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment