Thursday, November 24, 2022

Rolling Out the Red Carpet for 'The 5th EDDYS' at the MET

THE Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) is rolling out the red carpet for the 5th edition of the annual The EDDYS or Entertainment Editors’ Choice happening this Sunday, November 27, at the historic Metropolitan Theater (MET) in Manila. 

Hosted by the King of Talk Boy Abunda and directed by OPM icon and singer-songwriter Ice Seguerra, The 5th EDDYS will honor Filipino movies released on various platforms in 2021. It will also train the spotlight on luminaries, actors, craftsmen, writers, directors, workers, and producers in the Philippine film industry. 

The awards show will be powered by the performance of artists such Seguerra, Jona, Zephanie, and Regine Tolentino with Dance Royalties.

Among the nominees in the Best Picture category are Arisaka, Big Night, Dito at Doon, Kun Maupay Man It Panahon, and On The Job: The Missing 8

Vying for the Best Actress plum are Janine Gutierrez (Dito at Doon), Kim Molina (Ang Babaeng Walang Pakiramdam), Maja Salvador (Arisaka), Charo Santos (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon), and Alessandra de Rossi (My Amanda). 

Competing in the Best Actor race are John Arcilla (On The Job: The Missing 8), Christian Bables (Big Night), Dingdong Dantes (A Hard Day), Daniel Padilla (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon), and Piolo Pascual (My Amanda). 

On the other hand, nominees for the Best Director category include Erik Matti (On the Job: The Missing 8), Mikhail Red (Arisaka), Jun Lana (Big Night), Carlo Francis Manatad (Kun Maupay Man it Panahon), and JP Habac (Dito at Doon). 

Carrying on the tradition of paying tribute to movie stars who have made an indelible mark in the industry through their significant bodies of work, EDDYS will pay tribute to the illustrious career of EDDYS Icon awardees namely Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, Joey de Leon, Phillip Salvador, Roi Vinzon, Helen Gamboa, Divina Valencia, Elizabeth Oropesa, Sharon Cuneta, and Alma Moreno. 

Meanwhile, Gretchen Barretto, Kris Aquino, Alfred Vargas, GMA Kapuso Foundation, and ABS-CBN Sagip Kapamilya are the recipients of this year's Isah V. Red Award. The award is presented in honor and memory of SPEEd’s founding president, Isah V. Red. It is given to personalities and organizations to honor their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating the condition of people adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s special awardees have been named as the following: entertainment reporter Mario Dumaual for the Joe Quirino Award; former entertainment editor Eric Ramos for the Manny Pichel Award; Rein Entertainment for the Rising Producers’ Circle; and Viva Films as Producer of the Year.

The EDDYS is considered a game changer in the history of movie awards in the Philippines. Since its inception in 2017, it has easily positioned itself as a significant element of the film industry. Relatively new in recognizing deserving craftsmen, actors, writers, and directors, it instantly became one of the most distinguished film awards due to its large diversity among the chosen titles.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and top tabloids circulated daily nationwide.  The non-profit organization established in 2015 is led by People’s Journal’s Eugene Asis, as president.


The 5th EDDYS is presented by SPEED and Fire and Ice Media and Productions in partnership with Globe and in collaboration with Beautederm, National Commission for Culture and the Arts, and Metropolitan Theater. Nathan Studios, Rep. Arjo Atayde, Unilab, and Tanduay are sponsors.

The event is supported by Live Stream Manila, Dr. Carl E. Balita Foundation, Rep. Geraldine Roman, JFV Rice Mill and the Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry.

The auditing firm of Juancho Robles, Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, serves as vote auditor.


The 5th EDDYS kicks off with a red carpet program at 5:00 p.m., main show commences at 7:00 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment