Wednesday, July 11, 2018

‘Wishful Journey’ telecast set for July 15 on ABS-CBN’s ‘Sunday’s Best’

FANS and supporters of the singing group Wishful 5 can now relive the most memorable moments of their musical journey!

On Sunday (July 15), ABS-CBN will air a two-hour special via the station’s “Sunday’s Best” featuring the vocal quintet’s victorious stint at Wishcovery up to the successful launch of their debut record titled “Wishful Journey.”

A product of Wish 107.5’s online singing competition, the newly-formed singing group is composed of Wishcovery grand winner Princess Sevillena, and runners-up Kimberly Baluzo, Louie Anne Culala, Carmela Ariola and Ace Bartolome.


Princess, Kimberly, Louie Anne, Carmela and Ace were the top finalists of the competition that aired from September 2017 until March 2018.

The five artists clinched a recording deal with Star Music, one of the country’s biggest record labels, through a partnership with Breakthrough and Milestones Productions International (BMPI). BMPI is Wish 107.5’s content provider.

The landmark venture of the two music industry giants paved the way for the release of the Wishful 5’s “historic” album, which instantly received both Gold and Platinum Record awards during their well-attended concert at the Smart-Araneta Coliseum on June 19.

“This is the first time that a new artist signed our label received this much support. Their fans are very loyal,” said Jonathan Manalo, Star Music’s Head for Audio Content.

BMPI also offered the rising stars a five-year management contract through the BMPI Talent Center.


An initiative of Kuya Daniel Razon, the CEO and President of BMPI, the program “Wishcovery” aims to give chance to “those who are aspiring to be known in the world of music.”

Wishcovery is a fresh innovative platform that showcases the musical prowess of Filipinos, earning the nod of hitmaker and Wishcovery resident reactor Jungee Marcelo.

“I just want to tell [Kuya Daniel] to never stop doing things like this because it really blesses a lot of people -- people who really need a break,” shared Marcelo in an interview.

Marcelo is set to return for the sophomore season of Wishcovery. He, together with six more esteemed composers -- Noel Cabangon, Boy Christopher, Moi Ortiz, Rannie Raymundo, Vehnee Saturno, and Top Suzara -- are tasked to discover seven singing gems who have the potential to become the next big OPM star.

Auditions for the show are slated to begin in August. Tune in to Wish 107.5 and follow its official social media pages for updates.

'Respeto', big winner sa 2nd EDDYS ng SPEEd; NORA, EDDIE, CHARO, at MARICEL sama-samang tumanggap ng Film Icons award

BIG winner ang pelikulang Respeto sa 2nd EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice) na ginanap nitong nagdaang Lunes ng gabi sa The Theater At Solaire.

Bukod sa Best Film award, lima pang tropeo ang naiuwi ng Respeto na pinagbibidahan ng rapper na si Abra.

Personal namang tinanggap nina Maricel Soriano, Charo Santos-Concio, Eddie Garcia at Nora Aunor ang EDDYS Film Icons of the Year award. Kasama rin dito ang dalawang movie queen na sina Gloria Romero at Susan Roces ngunit hindi sila nakadalo.
Ang yumaong entertainment columnist at film critic na si Mario Hernando ang recipient ng 2018 EDDYS Manny Pichel Award habang ang veteran entertainment editor na si Ricky Lo ang tumanggap ng Joe Quirino Award.

Binigyan din ng tribute (Posthumous) ang award-winning director na si Maryo J. Delos Reyes.

Best Dressed Celebrities naman sina JC Santos at Sanya Lopez habang sina David Licauco at Andrea Torres ang tinanghal na Stars of the Night.

Ilan sa mga nag-perform sa gabi ng parangal ay sina Ciara Sotto, Abra at Loonie, Jona, Bituin Escalante, Wishful 5 at Noel Cabangon.

Nagsilbi namang hosts ang magkapatid na Ruffa at Raymond Gutierrez habang sina Rhian Ramos at Tim Yap naman ang naging anchors sa sosyaling red carpet.
Ang Globe Studios (Play It Right) ang major presenter ng 
2nd EDDYS 
sa pakikipag-tulungan ng Film Development Council of the Philippines, sa pangunguna ni Chairperson Liza Dino-Seguerra.
Ito’y sa direksyon ni Paolo Valenciano, sa ilalim ng produksyon ng fastest growing FM station na Wish 107.5.
Narito ang kumpletong listahan ng mga nagwagi sa 2nd EDDYS ng Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors, Inc. (SPEEd).

Best Film: Respeto
Best Director: Mikhail Red (Birdshot)
Best Actress: Mary Joy Apostol (Birdshot)
Best Actor: Aga Muhlach (Seven Sundays)
Best Supporting Actress (triple tie): Angeli Bayani (Maestra), Therese Malvar (Ilawod) and Chai Fonacier (Respeto)

Best Supporting Actor: Dido Dela Paz (Respeto)
Best Cinematography: Mycko David (Birdshot)

Best Original Screenplay: Eric Cabahug (Deadma Walking)
Best Sound Design: Corinne De San Jose (Respeto)
Best Musical Score: Jay Durias (Respeto)

Best Original Theme Song: "Respeto"
Best Visual Effects: Ang Panday
Best Editing: Marya Ignacio (Kita Kita)
Best Production Design: Gino Gonzales (Ang Larawan)

Special Awards:
Rising Producers Circle: Roselle Monteverde (Regal Films) and Veronique Del Rosario (Viva Films)

Producer of the Year: Vic Del Rosario Jr.

(Published @ People's Balita - July 11, 2018)