Sunday, March 17, 2024

‘Under A Piaya Moon’, ‘Pushcart Tales’, 'Last Shift' win big at 1st Puregold Cinepanalo Film Festival

"UNDER A Piaya Moon", "Pushcart Tales", and "Last Shift" win big at the successful first Puregold Cinepanalo Film Festival (Mga Kuwentong Panalo ng Buhay). 

"Under a Piaya Moon" directed by Kurt Soberano, set in 1980s Bacolod City, a young man aspires to continue the family legacy by winning an inter-city pastry competition with the help of his feuding grandfather and grandmother.

"Pushcart Tales" directed by Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, is a dramedy that takes place entirely within the walls of a grocery store. The story revolves around six individuals, a diverse group of employees and costumers, who find themselves unexpectedly trapped due to a severe storm.

"Last Shift" directed by Ronjay Mediola, as call center agents, Joel and Romar found each other as match or partners in crime. But at the same time as the crisis worsens, Joel is brought to a decision that will set aside the dreams they both had.

The awards night was held last Saturday, March 16 at the Gateway Cinema 5 in Cubao, Quezon City.

Here's the full list of winners for both categories:


Best Picture: “Under a Piaya Moon”

Special Jury Prize: “Pushcart Tales”

Best Director: Sigrid Andrea P. Bernardo, “Pushcart Tales”

Best Actress: Shamaine Buencamino, “Pushcart Tales”

Best Actor (tie): Jeff Moses, “Under a Piaya Moon”; and Carlos Siguion-Reyna, “Pushcart Tales”

Best Supporting Actress: Nicole Omillo, “Boys at the Back”

Best Supporting Actor: Joel Torre, “Under a Piaya Moon”

Best Ensemble: Cast of “Pushcart Tales”                                    

Best Screenplay: Raynier F. Brizuela, “Boys at the Back"

Best in Cinematography: Nathan Bringuer, “Under a Piaya Moon”

Best in Production Design: Jed Sicangco, Kurt Soberano, “Under a Piaya Moon”

Best Original Score: Owa Marquez, “Boys at the Back”

Best Editing: Rodney Jarder Jr., Kurt Soberano, “Under a Piaya Moon”

Best Sound Design: Nioki Aquino, “Pushcart Tales”

Best Poster: “Boys at the Back”

Best Song: “Mahal Kita,” sung by VJ Mendoza and composed by Macky Alca, for “Road to Happy”

Always Panalo Film: “A Lab Story”

Audience Choice (Full-Length Film): A Lab Story

MTRCB’s Responsableng Paglikha Award (Full-Length): “Under a Piaya Moon” by Kurt Soberano

Mowelfund Film Institute’s Special Citation (Full-Length): “Under a Piaya Moon” by Kurt Soberano


Best Short Film: “Last Shift”

Special Jury Prize for Short Film: Kent Michael Cadungog, “Text FIND DAD and Send to 2366”

Best Director: Dizelle C. Masilungan, “Kung Nag-aatubili”

Best Actress: Jade Mary Cornelia, “Text FIND DAD and Send to 2366”

Best Actor (tie): Jules Azaula, “Last Shift”; and Cristmer Valencia, “May Kulang Rosas Ba sa Bahaghari?”

Best Supporting Actress: Maila Rediang, “Repeater si Peter”

Best Supporting Actor (tie): Vince Macapobre, “Last Shift”; Aiskhylos Akiyama, “Kung Nag-aatubili”

Best Ensemble: Cast of “Smokey Journey”

Best Screenplay: Ronjay-C Mendiola, “Last Shift”

Best in Cinematography: Anton Acosta, “Kung Nag-aatubili”

Best in Production Design: Mikaela Ganaden, “Remedy Soup”

Best Original Score: Bernie Del Carmen, “Smokey Journey”

Best Editing: Nyle Justin Bacolod, Reutsche Colle Lima, Elj Seth Tababa, “Tiil ni Lola”

Best Sound Design: Kzee Flores, “May Kulay Rosas Ba sa Bahaghari?”

Best Short Film Poster: “Last Shift”

Best Original Song: “Balik” by Dixzie Dione Cruel, composed by Espresso, “Tiil ni Lola”

Always Panalo Film: “Smokey Journey”

Audience Choice (Short Film): Saan Ako Pinaglihi?

MTRCB’s Responsableng Paglikha Award

1ST PLACE: “Smokey Journey” by Jenievive B. Adame
2ND PLACE: “Til ni Lola” by Reutsche Colle Rigurosa Lima
3RD PLACE: “Kung Nag-aatubili” by Dizelle C. Masilungan

MOWELFUND Film Institute Special Citation Short Film: “Ka Benjie” by Alexa Moneii Agaloos


 1. Kent Michael Cadungog (“Text FIND DAD and Send to 2366”)

 2. Jenievive B. Adame (“Smokey Journey”)

 3. Daniel Gil (“Distansya”)

 4. John Lever Sucaldito (“Tambal nga Sabaw”)

 5. Reutsche Colle Rigurosa Lima (“Till ni Lola”)

 6. Alexa Moneil Agaloos (“Ka Benjie”)

 7. John Pistol L. Carmen (“Repeater si Peter”)

 8. Dizelle C. Masilungan (“Kung Nag-aatubill”)

 9. Joshua Andrey A. Doce (*I Am Mutya and I Thank You)

10. Marian Jayce R. Tiongzon (“May Kulay Rosas Ba Sa Bahaghari?”)

CinePanalo Film Festival currently runs at Gateway Cineplex until Tuesday, March 19, 2024, with schedules of the five sets of student shorts and the six full-length films.

No comments:

Post a Comment