Sunday, November 20, 2022

'The 5th EDDYS' Honors 10 Movie Icons & Special Awardees

THE Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) marks another milestone as it celebrates the fifth edition of the annual EDDYS (Entertainment Editors’ Choice), an in-person event happening on November 27 at the historic Metropolitan Theatre (MET) in Manila.

Highlight of the film event, hosted by King of Talk Boy Abunda and directed by Ice Seguerra, is the recognition of 10 movie icons who have made indelible marks in the entertainment industry through their outstanding bodies of work. 

This year’s Icon Awards will be conferred upon Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, Joey de Leon, Phillip Salvador, Roi Vinzon, Helen Gamboa, Divina Valencia, Elizabeth Oropesa, Sharon Cuneta, and Alma Moreno

They join the ranks of previous awardees who have been recognized for their undying efforts and dedication to elevate local film artistry.


Meanwhile, actress Gretchen Barretto, TV host Kris Aquino, actor and QC District 5 Councilor Alfred Vargas, GMA Kapuso Foundation, and ABS-CBN Sagip Kapamilya are the recipients of this year’s Isah V. Red Award. This award is presented in honor and memory of SPEEd’s founding president, Isah V. Red. It is given to personalities and organizations to honor their humanitarian efforts toward alleviating the conditions of people adversely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

This year’s special awardees have been named as the following: entertainment reporter Mario Dumaual for the Joe Quirino Award; former entertainment editor Eric Ramos for the Manny Pichel Award; Rein Entertainment for the Rising Producers’ Circle; and Viva Films as Producer of the Year.

The event is in partnership with Globe Telecom and in collaboration with Beautederm, National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA), and MET. Nathan Studios, QC District Representative Arjo Atayde and Tanduay are sponsors. The event is supported by Live Stream Manila, Dr. Carl E. Balita Foundation, JFV Rice Mill and Bataan Representative Geraldine B. Roman.

The auditing firm of Juancho Robles, Chan Robles & Company, CPAs, serves as vote auditor.

The EDDYS is considered a game changer in the history of movie awards in the Philippines. Since its inception in 2017, it has easily positioned itself as a significant element of the film industry. Relatively new in recognizing deserving craftsmen, actors, writers, and directors, it instantly became one of the most distinguished film awards due to its large diversity among the chosen titles.

The SPEEd is made up of entertainment editors of newspapers and top tabloids circulated daily nationwide. 

The non-profit organization established in 2015 is led by People’s Journal’s Eugene Asis, a president.

"It means so much to me and all the members of SPEEd that we will be holding The Eddys live again after the pandemic put all our lives on hold, including, of course, the creativity of the Philippine Movie Industry. Despite the delay and difficulties of filming in the last year, it is all the more important to recognize the hard work of our artists as we reignite the spirit of the industry to rise up and return with blazing passion,” says Asis.

The EDDYS is returning as an in-person film event after holding the previous awarding ceremony online. 

No comments:

Post a Comment